Self Portrait 1999

3 Jun

self portrait 2 oil on glass - Copy

“Self Portrait, 1999”, Oil on glass

I’m feeling a bit sad today. The past two weeks have been a struggle to frame the five portraits (including the one above) that were accepted to hang in a local restaurant. It’s been a lot of work, frustration, time, and money I don’t really have. I just received information stating that the restaurant is “closing for a couple of months”.  Ultimately what that means, I don’t know.

 

Now comes the part where I try to look on the bright side.

1. I was brave enough to ask if I could exhibit.

2. Someone said yes to me!

3. I got a lot of practice cutting glass and assembling frames.

4. These pieces deserved to be framed ages ago. Now they are officially complete.

5. They are ready for me to approach someone else and hang immediately with no more effort.

 

I will be sad for a little while. It’s ok to be disappointed. But I will try to remember  the 5 positives above and put one foot in front of the other and keep on going.

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Self Portrait 1999”

  1. Judy July 27, 2016 at 3:08 pm #

    Love your work and your positives…. keep believing in what you do!!

  2. Pam Huggins August 14, 2014 at 1:42 pm #

    Hope you’ve approached someone new about exhibiting since this post.
    I admire your fortitude!

    • takingitpersonally August 15, 2014 at 10:11 am #

      Thanks 🙂 Life has been so hectic lately, I have been teaching all summer, that I have not. The opportunity will present itself later…I’m sure of it.

    • Pam Huggins August 15, 2014 at 6:19 pm #

      I agree! The opportunity will present itself when it’s time.

  3. rlte June 17, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I like your art.

  4. Dakota June 4, 2014 at 12:48 pm #

    But you *DID* ask, so the second time should be easier, right? Good for you for putting yourself out there… I’m sorry the venue fell through.

    • takingitpersonally June 4, 2014 at 7:35 pm #

      Exactly. That hurdle’s cleared, so next time will be easier. And I won’t have the framing panic following it- it’s already done!

Leave a Reply

