Museum Sketch

21 Oct

egyptian face

 

A live sketch from an ancient Egyptian sculpture.

graphite

5 Responses to “Museum Sketch”

  1. melissapenic November 18, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    since I’m new to blogging, I am not sure about the etiquette of replying. I do thank you for your interest in my blog: http://melissapenic.wordpress.com , and am happy to see what a vibrantly artistic life you enjoy. I’m very new to computer graphic arts and am working toward a degree. I’m involved in many media – but serially — can’t do it all, all the time. I have had continuous glass classes in my studio for about 10 years, but have taught other things, as well. Good luck to you. I’ll try to be a good neighbor on the web and visit again soon.

  2. ann krier October 26, 2013 at 7:13 am #

    Love the museum as a source of inspiration – i wished we had the Smithsonian in our backyard – it would be busy for years !

  3. Kym October 21, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    This is good. I like how you see the lines of shadows as solid instead of gradual. I’m impressed by how you express the curves on the surface of something by the amount of detail you put into the shadows (because of the technique you use). I see this in all of your drawings and paintings. I guess I’m so impressed because I can’t do it, and because most of what I see is usually detailed in the object rather than the shadows. (Does that make sense?)

    • takingitpersonally October 21, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      Kym, my favorite comment-er, I’m really attracted to organic shapes. They make the pieces so much more interesting and abstract. Sometimes I wonder of all the coloring books I used to color in as a child have anything to do with the look of my work. Can you see a connection?

Leave a Reply

