Sleeping Hope

31 May

sleeping hope

 

Oil Pastel

3 Responses to “Sleeping Hope”

  1. tamberrinoartstudio November 15, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    Gorgeous! I love the red! 🙂

  2. marycatsatt June 4, 2013 at 3:51 am #

    The peace I see on her face conflicts with the red that was used to paint her. I think she should be having a nightmare, but her face says she’s having a nice dream. I’m having trouble putting into words the confusion I feel when I look at this. I think that’s what makes it a nice piece.

    • takingitpersonally June 4, 2013 at 11:07 am #

      I drew this when I was a an art student many, many moons ago. I didn’t stop to think about the symbolism of the color. I tend to just grab whatever color speaks to me that day. The portrait was actually supposed to be upright; but it always seemed a bit off to me. Then I finally turned it (just last week) and realized that’s how it should have been all along. If I had gone into it knowing she was going to be sleeping, maybe I would not have chosen red……or maybe i would have 🙂

      Thanks so much for being my #1 commenter!

Leave a Reply

